So THAT’S where old dashboards go…

Sony today announced (well, confirmed what everyone knew already) its new iteration of the Sony PS3. It’s supposedly slimmer than the original black monolith, so they went with the name ‘PS3 Slim’. Original.

A Side-by-Side comparison. Courtesy of Engadget

A Side-by-Side comparison. Courtesy of Engadget

My thoughts? Well to put it into a single word: Fugly. I don’t like the matt plastic, there’s no longer any chrome trim, and the touch-sensitive buttons on the front look like stickers. It all looks really childish.

It also reminds me of the plastic you find on the dashboards of old cars – are Sony stripping our old cars of all their plastic trim before they get scrapped? It would appear so!

The price drop is equally uninteresting – The Sony PS3 now has a whopping price reduction of… £50! Yes, it’s no longer £300, RRP has been cut to £250 (presumably because the Slim costs them no money to make, because they’re recycling old car dashboards). If you actually looked around, you could have already gotten an 80GB PS3 for £250, which is why I was wondering why news coverage was talking about long-awaited price cuts…

What annoys me the most about this development is that it will be extremely difficult for me to get a good price for my 80GB PS3 (which I bought, brand new, for £220 last October), so I’ll just have to set it up in the living room as a Media Centre before I leave home in Autumn.

Feel free to leave your comments, do you like the new styling of the PS3 or do you prefer the “Fat” version, like me? Do you even care?

8 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by pokeh on August 18, 2009 at 11:04 pm

    I agree that it looks horrendous. I would probably go out of my way to find a regular one if I ever tried to buy one.

    Reply

  2. I like the new version.

    Reply

  3. […] If I had been dragged all the way around the world for that, I would be pissed. I think it’s fair to say that Sony outdid Microsoft here, even if they did announce the butt-ugly PS3 Slim. […]

    Reply

  4. There’s no backwards compatibility for Playstation 2 games. None. So yes, it is slimmer, sleeker, and better in many ways (i.e. space, noise, and energy concerns) than the original models of the PS3. However, just make sure you know what you’re getting into before you buy it. An older model, while more expensive, can give full back catalog playback and, sometimes, many other benefits (card readers, etc). However, if you’re only looking to play the best, newest games that Sony has to offer, this will meet your needs just fine. And if, for some strange reason, you fill up the HDD, they can be upgraded easily. In fact, Sony encourages it.

    Reply

  5. I’m so glad I found this site…Keep up the good work

    Reply

  6. Posted by Paul Sellery on October 28, 2009 at 10:35 am

    Hi all,

    I’m thinking of purchasing a new 250GB Slim PS3 and I was wondering if you’d be kind enough to answer a couple of questions?

    From reading above, I understand that there’s no backwards compatibility for Playstation 2 games, so I’d only be able to play PS3 games right?

    One thing I’ve been dying to find out is whether there is a media library on the PS3…. basically, can I upload music/dvd’s and then watch them through the PS3 at the click of a button, without the need for any disks etc? I know that this is an option on the Xbox and I was hoping that Sony had implemented it on on the PS3 as well. I’ve had a little browse around trying to find this out, but lots of posts are dated way back when the PS3 was orignally launched and I wanted to make sure I got an answer that was specific to the new slim model. Even the official PS3 site doesn’t give much info on this. If it is possible, how are they uploaded exactly?

    Your comments would be most appreciated and any other info you can give me would be great.

    Thanks,
    Paul

    Reply

    • Posted by Michael Davies on October 31, 2009 at 11:16 am

      you can link your PS3 to your PC and use the latter as a media centre. If you have a Windows PC then it’ll detect the PS3 if you enable media sharing. That way you can get films, etc. available at the press of a button, but I don’t think you can rip media direct off DVDs. However, if you have a memory pen with films on it you can transfer them directly on to the PS3’s HDD. Sadly the backwards compatibility is still unavailable, they removed the emotion chip from the original PS3s, and now they’ve weaned out the emulator software. The only way you can get legacy games on the PS3 Slim is to buy them from the PSN Store.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

